Confirmed: Wallabies won against Scotland on wrong call

REFEREE Craig Joubert's controversial decision to award a penalty to Australia in the dying stages of yesterday's World Cup quarter-final against Scotland has been ruled incorrect by the World Rugby match official selection committee.

The selection committee confirmed overnight that Joubert was wrong to penalise Scotland's Jon Welsh for offside in the 78th minute of the Twickenham clash, after he had played the ball following a knock-on by a team-mate, and a scrum would have been the correct decision.

Joubert should have awarded a scrum feed to Australia instead of granting Wallabies five-eighth Bernard Foley the opportunity to kick a match-winning penalty goal.

A statement from World Rugby clarified that a review of all angles of the incident made clear that after the knock-on, the ball was touched by Australia's Nick Phipps and Law 11.3(c) states that a player can be put on-side by an opponent who intentionally plays the ball.

"It is important to clarify that, under the protocols, the referee could not refer to the television match official in this case and therefore had to rely on what he saw in real time," the statement said.

Read more at the NZ Herald



Albanese shrugs off LNP attacks on Labor's CQ coal approach

premium_icon Albanese shrugs off LNP attacks on Labor's CQ coal approach

He explained where the Labor Party sat regarding the coal sector.

Rocky Mum makes special trip to Gladstone just for ALDI

premium_icon Rocky Mum makes special trip to Gladstone just for ALDI

'It is the price, more than anything, and I do love their products'

Seaside city: Ludwig explains major benefits of name change

premium_icon Seaside city: Ludwig explains major benefits of name change

'REBRANDING would offer greater opportunity to grow tourism'

Local Partners