NEWLYWED Javarn White will make his first appearance for the Central Queensland Capras after the former Ipswich Jets fullback was yesterday named in a 22-man squad to tackle the Mackay Cutters on Saturday.

White was unavailable for Saturday night's 30-20 trial loss to the Brisbane Broncos' Holden Cup side. Instead, he and wife Amie hosted an engagement party in Brisbane, which turned into a surprise wedding.

Capras coach Jason Hetherington said he was looking forward to having former Intrust Super Cup player of the year White on deck this weekend.

"He's a quality fullback. Ray did a wonderful job on the weekend and so did Trey," Hetherington said, ahead of Saturday's trial match which will double as the first match of the M-Group Challenge.

"We've got plenty of good fullbacks there, but Javarn's organisation; he'll organise the defence line and he'll bark at them if they're getting too loose (around the ruck)."

White, wrecking ball Garrett Field and Welsh international Ian Webster were named to make their first appearance in Capras colours in 2015 against the Cutters in Sarina on Saturday night.

Typically a half or hooker, Webster isn't foreign to the centre position after filling the role while representing Wales at the 2013 Rugby League World Cup.

"He can play anywhere. He can play 1 to 13, and that's probably the sign of a footballer," Hetherington said.

Front rower Chris Stolk picked up a knee injury on Saturday night but is still a chance to feature in the trial against the Cutters, who managed a 12-12 draw against St George Illawarra Dragons in the first pre-season trial a fortnight ago.



Saturday at Ray Edwards Oval, Sarina

1.30pm U/16 Capras v Mackay Cutters; 3pm U/18 Capras v Mackay Cutters; 4.30pm U/20 Capras v Sarina Crocodiles; 6.15pm M-Group Challenge: Capras v Mackay Cutters.

CQ CAPRAS: 1. Javarn White, 2. Sheldon Bobbert, 3. Ian Webster, 4. Russell Webber, 5. Ray Ebsworth, 6. Russell Aitken, 7. Matt Minto, 8. Andrew Dale, 9. Josh Mitchell, 10. Peter Gallen, 11. Guy Williams (c), 12. Garrett Field, 13. Gavin Hiscox, 14. Shannon Rupapere, 15. Todd Ryan, 16. Gerard Tema, 17. Fabian Soutar, 18. Rajan Opetaia-Halls, 19. Tyson White, 20. Jarrod Earle, 21. Dylan Tiaaleaiga, 22. Aaron Watson. Coach: Jason Hetherington.

Smoke and flames reported at Ergon building in Rocky CBD

premium_icon Smoke and flames reported at Ergon building in Rocky CBD

QFES and QPS attended the scene on Fitzroy St

CQ business 'honoured' to be nominated for state awards

premium_icon CQ business 'honoured' to be nominated for state awards

Coastal business nominated for customer service award