MPs sworn in, let the political games begin

ALMOST two months since the state election Queensland MPs were officially sworn in when Parliament returned on Tuesday.

It was down to business as all 89 MPs gathered in the house Tuesday morning.

A sea of red ties and shirts represented the Labor Party while blue ties and shirts dominated the LNP side.

Katter's Australian Party MPs Robbie Katter and Shane Knuth sat up the back near the entrance, next to independent Peter Wellington before he was officially elected as speaker.

All MPs were required to swear their allegiance to the Queen and that they would serve the people of Queensland according to the law.

It started with the Premier, Annastacia Palaszczuk, then deputy premier Jackie Trad and treasurer Curtis Pitt, who then swore in all other MPs in groups of three.

The MPs then moved on to sign the oath or the affirmation and member's roll before returning to their seats.

Official parliamentary proceedings will continue Wednesday when Governor Paul de Jersey opens Parliament.

It will include a 19-gun salute across the Brisbane River at Kangaroo Point and an official speech from the Governor.

Topics:  parliament politics queensland

Yeppoon girls' a-lure-ing start in the workforce

L-R DeeAnn Busby, Maggie McLaughlin, Taylor Lanigan, Samantha O'Brien.

CQ girls leave behind home to pursue their dreams in the "big city”

Rocky region's top ranking schools: Full list

Rockhampton State High School principal Kirsten Dwyer.

Local underdog school takes out Rocky's best OP school ranking

1500 players prepare for extended Rocky netball season

LET'S PLAY: Rockhampton Netball Association treasurer Julie-Ann Thackeray is gearing up for another big year.

Successful association to celebrate milestone this year

Local Partners