Taylor, Kenny off Aust squad of 24

THE party of 24 players named in the Australian squad threw up the usual handful of surprise names, but unfortunately not on the list were local heroes Dave Taylor or Nick Kenny.

Both were part of the national training squad, but when the announcement was made the pair finished below the cut.

Taylor and Kenny received rave notices as the Broncos eased into the finals, but that did not prove to be enough.

Parramatta forward Nathan Hindmarsh has won a Kangaroos recall as part of the 24-man Australian Four Nations squad announced yesterday and after his grand final performance it was deserved.

Hindmarsh has not played for Australia since 2007, but has been called up on the back of the Eels' memorable grand final finish to the NRL season.

Test coach Tim Sheens said form dictated the squad, with seven rookies picked and five incumbents from the Test win over the Kiwis omitted.

Robbie Farah, Ben Hannant, Michael Jennings, Luke Lewis, Josh Morris, David Shillington and Brett White were all selected for the first time.

Luke Bailey (arm) was not considered due to injury, while fellow incumbents Darius Boyd, Brent Kite, Glenn Stewart and Anthony Laffranchi were left out.

Minor premiers St George Illawarra and third-placed Gold Coast did not have a single player selected in the touring party.

Premiers Melbourne had six players selected, with Cooper Cronk and Ryan Hoffman winning recalls alongside White, Greg Inglis, Cameron Smith and Billy Slater.

Hindmarsh and Jarryd Hayne were the only representatives from the losing grand finalists.

“Bailey was unavailable ... the other (four) missed out on, I suppose, form when you think about it,” Sheens said of the incumbents omitted.

“It is a side picked on recent form.”

Sheens said there were still injury concerns over some players in the squad and those in doubt would need to prove their fitness before the team departs on October 16. Sheens said there were some shadow players on standby, but did not name them.

“There are some issues and quite a number of players still in doubt,” said Sheens.

“If you cannot run and complete training, then we have to think about it.

”We cannot add to that squad after we leave. This 24 is the only 24.“

The team Australia: Petero Civoniceva (Penrith), Cooper Cronk (Melbourne), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), Israel Folau (Brisbane), Paul Gallen (Cronulla), Kurt Gidley (Newcastle), Ben Hannant (Bulldogs), Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta), Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta), Justin Hodges (Brisbane), Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne), Greg Inglis (Melbourne), Michael Jennings (Penrith), Darren Lockyer (capt, Brisbane), Luke Lewis (Penrith), Josh Morris (Bulldogs), David Shillington (Canberra), Billy Slater (Melbourne), Cameron Smith (Melbourne), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland), Trent Waterhouse (Penrith), Anthony Watmough (Manly), Brett White (Melbourne).

CQ teen dies in Anzac Day tragedy

CQ teen dies in Anzac Day tragedy

The young man was pronounced dead at the scene

Region's best experience promoted on national TV today

Region's best experience promoted on national TV today

Live crosses every half hour on national TV this morning

Stockland Rocky's expansion plans for big department store

premium_icon Stockland Rocky's expansion plans for big department store

It follows the approval of a $45m entertainment precinct proposal

Local Partners