Letters to the Editor

Tue 2 Jul 2019

New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

premium_icon New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

SEVEN years ago, when first living in Toowoomba, my wife and I were impressed at how spiritual the drivers seem to be here.

Mon 1 Jul 2019

HANSON: Hold a royal commission into Family Law system

premium_icon HANSON: Hold a royal commission into Family Law system

'June 30 didn't just mark the end of the financial year, it also symbolised another destructive milestone in Queensland Family Law...'

If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

premium_icon If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

If we all stop slaughtering cattle and sheep in Australia based on today’s numbers, we'd have in excess of 26 million cattle to feed and 70 million sheep.

Fri 28 Jun 2019

Does this CQ island prove that sea levels aren't rising?

premium_icon Does this CQ island prove that sea levels aren't rising?

Boatie: I can take you out there and show you if you don't believe me

Mon 24 Jun 2019

Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

premium_icon Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

'Israel Folau is copping stick from some for seeking public donations - but this issue is bigger than just Folau'

Mon 17 Jun 2019

Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

premium_icon Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

Sending them to jail does no good, because when they get out they just re-offend. I think the punishment should be made to fit the crime.

Mon 10 Jun 2019

Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

premium_icon Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

WHAT would you like for lunch? Meal worms, flies, maggots or crickets? Yes, it’s true. They may well be the food of the future.

Mon 27 May 2019

Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

premium_icon Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

AUSTRALIA, open your eyes. The Four Corners program highlighted the result of years of turning a blind eye to proper discipline through parenting and schooling.

Sun 26 May 2019

Ludwig supports the movement of Adani approvals

premium_icon Ludwig supports the movement of Adani approvals

He says new convention centre and Stanage Bay road are also equally as important

Thu 23 May 2019

There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

premium_icon There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

SO THERE’S now two reported incidents of gel blasters aimed at people. It makes one bristle at the thought of anyone’s eyes being damaged in any way.

Mon 20 May 2019

Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

premium_icon Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

At pre-polling in Toowoomba last week, this letter writer spoke to an LNP member who was concerned about how much acting on climate change will cost.

Tue 14 May 2019

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Facts on the finch

premium_icon LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Facts on the finch

It appears to have become extinct around Rockhampton during the early to mid 70s

Mon 13 May 2019

'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

premium_icon 'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

"I OFTEN have nightmares about what will happen to Australia if the ALP wins this election."

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Sun 5 May 2019

Letters: I'll have a Democracy Sausage and be grateful

premium_icon Letters: I'll have a Democracy Sausage and be grateful

"In fact, what I have observed is that nothing much has changed in decades and that generally politics reflects society.”

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

Mon 8 Apr 2019

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

At first glance this looks like a Ford Ranger Wildtrak ute but there’s a major query on its build quality.

Sun 7 Apr 2019

World Health Day: Cancer Council calls for health awareness

premium_icon World Health Day: Cancer Council calls for health awareness

Those living rurally are more likely to be diagnosed with a disease.

Newer Older