Letters to the Editor

Mon 25 Mar 2019

OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

premium_icon OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

LETTER: Take Pauline Hanson, for example. The moment she entered parliament she has been fair game for one and all.

Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

premium_icon Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

Are snake numbers increasing, or are more of us interacting with them and getting more and more into their space?

Mon 18 Mar 2019

Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

premium_icon Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

'Waking up this morning, it is hard to believe that this dreadful insult on decent human beings, has been performed by other humans.'

Fri 15 Mar 2019

YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

premium_icon YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

The second in writers series about the crisis engulfing the Darling River system

Tue 12 Mar 2019

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

premium_icon Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

'For years I could not accept death penalty because of guilt that I would carry around. Could I have lived with that person's death on my soul?'

Sun 3 Mar 2019

Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

premium_icon Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

'Our deep pain was that we had to watch on as she endured that dark creep of confusion; observing the great fear in her eyes as her world collapsed'

EDITOR'S OPINION: Will you be using the new car park?

premium_icon EDITOR'S OPINION: Will you be using the new car park?

Is it still a feasible price or will it be too expensive for some families?

Hospital says thanks to all involved in the long journey

premium_icon Hospital says thanks to all involved in the long journey

'We're very excited to be providing this new service to our patients'

Sat 2 Mar 2019

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Refugees, crime and finches

premium_icon LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Refugees, crime and finches

Australia is listed in the top 10 land-clearing nations of the world and has more threatened animals than 98 per cent of the world's countries.

Mayor responds to claims of unrest and upheaval at Council

premium_icon Mayor responds to claims of unrest and upheaval at Council

'It should be remembered Livingstone Shire has had three CEOs in five years, so not a lot of stability there'

Wed 27 Feb 2019

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

With the recent launch of the new Jaguar I-Pace electric SUV our readers wonder if it is superior to tesla’s ‘falcon-wing’ doored family hauler.

Wed 13 Feb 2019

OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

premium_icon OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

OPINION: While I am horrified at this being filmed and others just watching, I think that this behaviour is a symptom of the home life some of them have.

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Sat 26 Jan 2019

Rocky Touch helped make the game what it is today

Rocky Touch helped make the game what it is today

A few of the old Troopers are considering a reunion in the not to distant future and I would appreciate some feedback from those interested.

Thu 17 Jan 2019

Best way to deal with worry

premium_icon Best way to deal with worry

It has recently been acknowledged that “worry” is essential, however what shall we do with it?

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

premium_icon Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

Liberal Democrat Senator comes out swinging at Gympie Times columnist Colin Claridge, who he says does not know him, nor understand the electoral system

Central Queensland reeling in the big tourism catch

premium_icon Central Queensland reeling in the big tourism catch

It's great to see we're becoming known for more than just our beef with a cracker barramundi season almost upon us

Mon 14 Jan 2019

It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

premium_icon It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

'It’s now time for the northern cyclone wasted waters to be turned west. It will cost, but will pay off for ever as large areas of drought prone Western land.'

Newer Older